The Joint Committee on Franciscan Unity is a committee made up of two representatives, each, from the Third Order Society of St. Francis, Province of the Americas (TSSF, Anglican Communion), the Order of Ecumenical Franciscans (OEF), and the Secular Franciscan Order (SFO, Roman Communion).  This committee was formed with the hope and goal of bringing together Christians of various lineages who seek to follow the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ in the footsteps of St. Francis.


One of the guiding practices for celebrating and moving more deeply into unity is to pray together.  These prayer services are offered with the hope that local and regional levels of our respective Orders will reach out to each other to celebrate our common Franciscan vocation.  To this end, this booklet contains two prayer services.  The first is a “Little Office” of Morning Prayer (Lauds), designed to be prayed as individuals or communities during Francistide:  from the Feast of the Stigmata on September 17 through the Feast of St. Francis on October 4.  The second is an agape celebration, rooted in the ancient practice of blessing, breaking and sharing a meal with others.  It is rooted in the hospitality of Abraham, the sacrifice of Melchizedek, the way Jesus ate and drank, even with sinners, and the practice of St. Francis, himself, who would bless and share bread with his friars.


Father Masud Ibn Syedullah, TSSF

Deacon Joan Verret, TSSF

Louis Canter, OEF

Richard LeFevre, OEF

Michael Carsten, OFS

Donna Hollis, OFS